Tuesday, 23 January 2007

Yeah! It snowed today!






Some more pictures

Designer Outlet - A huge mall with 120 shops of designer brands. You name it, you get it here
Some brands you can see here
Hugo Boss and CK and DAKS London
Shambles - A very beautiful shopping street for Souvenirs and other small stuff. Most famous in York
Me outside Shambles

New Year snaps









Thursday, 18 January 2007

Big BUCKer


Date: 17th January, 6.38 p.m.

Shilpa: I had kept 4 oxo stock cubes in the kitchen, and now I can only see one. Where are the rest?
Jade: I used it for the pasta.
Shilpa: Three! For that pasta? You just required one!
Jade: It was too bland. So used 3.
Shilpa: The stock cubes were the only things I had ordered on the shopping list, and you finished it all!

The argument continues and gets heated to an extent that our own “Churake dil mera girl” is labelled as a liar (incidentally shilpa had ordered most of the stuff on the shopping list), fake, pathetic and that she was so stuck up that she could smell the stink of her s**t right up her a*se. Shilpa was livid but could not live up to the argument and finally accused Jade of having Big Brother as the only claim to fame before retreating to the pink room.
All this comes from Jade Goody -
Who is Jade Goody?
Five years ago, Jade Goody was known as The Pig.
Tabloid newspapers denounced her as the most unpopular woman in Britain and baying crowds held placards in front of the Big Brother cameras suggesting the producers "Kill the Pig".
Hating the 21-year-old dental nurse from a council estate in Bermondsey, south London, became the national sport in the summer of 2002.
Yet her misdemeanours were mostly innocuous. On her first night in the third Big Brother house, her only crime was to talk very loudly and ask what asparagus was.
She later found herself in bed with her housemate, PJ, threatened to "deck" another contestant for pointing out she had a verruca and stripped during a game of poker.
But it was her tenuous grasp of general knowledge that attracted most opprobrium. She thought Rio de Janeiro was a footballer, that Sherlock Holmes invented the toilet and that Pistachio was the genius behind the Mona Lisa.
Curiously, she left the Big Brother house not in the direction of obscurity but to become a multi-millionaire with a mansion in Essex, two children, a best-selling perfume and a profile to rival Victoria Beckham's.
By her own account, she is "the most 25th inferlential [sic] person in the world".
It is a fair distance from the chaotic house where she was brought up by a lesbian mother, for whom she rolled cannabis cigarettes from the age of four.
Her father, of Jamaican descent, left home when she was two. He died of a heroin overdose.
During her first stay in the Big Brother house she asked housemates: "Where's East Angular [sic] though? I thought that was abroad."
On travel: "Do they speak Portuganese in Portugal?"
On sport: "Do you play croquet on a horse?"

Ok, cut to Big BUCKer -
In the pink room, Shilpa is heard talking to Cleo mentioning that I am from a foreign country as a guest in UK. Is this what UK has become? It’s scary.

Total Drama!

I have missed the episodes where the racist remarks had been made, but when I read about it in the newspapers I couldn’t stop myself (someone who hates reality shows) to watch the entire episode yesterday.

Indian media channels and newspapers have been flooded with the “hot news” showing the same story in a loop 24x7 as this has been the most important news since Mahatma Gandhi was assassinated.

People of Asian origin have taken their mobiles, pdas and laptops to the street condemning the content on Big Brother. The mobile networks are jammed, the OFCOM website (UK media regulator) is down and 21000 complaints have been received in the last 24 hours by the UK government.

Channel 4 (the channel which airs Big Brother) has clarified that there have been no racism going on in the Big Brother house, its just – ‘a clash of cultures and class’. Am sure the lawyers at Channel four must have worked all night to come up with that line.

Tony Blair and Gordon brown have done their bit by condemning the ‘offensive behaviour’.

The UK police have launched an investigation into the matter too (they must have been pulled out from the task of investigating the 7/7 bombings).
Conservatives in UK, not wanting to be left behind, vying for media attention have jumped on the bandwagon saying there have been no racist remarks on Shilpa Shetty.

I won’t be surprised if these conservatives counter allege that Shilpa has condemned the UK by initiating the racism complaints.

If you think of it, this has been a well thought strategy by the Channel 4 guys, since most of the stuff on the show is arguably scripted. Ok, for those who don’t agree with me on this, let me put it this way – The channel 4 guys gave made sure that the housemates behave in a certain predetermined fashion simply due to the way the housemates have been selected (one Indian and one Black in a White group).

Racism is rampant all across the West and it is no rocket science for any one to predict this would have happened.

The outcome? –

The UK government will apologise, the Indian media will divert their attention to some other “IMPORTANT NEWS” and a few more thousands of additional viewership will skyrocket their TRPs.

And Channel 4 guys will be laughing their way to the bank!

Big Big BUCKer!

Tuesday, 16 January 2007

Faux Pas in UK!!! Must read


Arrived at York late night on 9th Jan with a so called ''Jet Lag''; dunno the difference, just that it felt like i have been travelling for ages! But could still squeeze in a couple of Carslberg beers, which I bought from a loacl kirana store on my way home, before I hit the bed. 10th Jan was quite cool, with a couple of introductions to people, getting my access card and most importantly - ''PER DIEM''. I had to visit London for 'full day meetings' on 11th Jan, so I thought I should crash early on 10th. And so i did that, not before I had a few Budweisers though.

So I went to bed after I put an alarm for 530 am on my phone (thats what i use as alarm clock normally) as I was supposed to catch a train at 7 am from York to London. The alarm went off at 530, as it was supposed to, and I snoozed for 10-15 mins and finally dragged myself out of bed. Got ready in a jiffy, called for the cab and left for the station at 620 am.

The normal road to the station was shut so the driver tells me we have to take a detour. I was a bit tense as I didnt want to miss my train. I informed him that I have a train at 7 am so I hope I wont get delayed. He gave me a rather confused look but finally gave me an assuring ''Do-not-worry'' nod.

I reached the station, paid the cabbie and got off. Saw my phone, it was still 645 am, well in time. Breathed a sigh of relief and with confidence glowing all over my face I went to the station screen to see what time the train is and which platform it is supposed to arrive. (I have always been very bad with trains even in India so I didnt want to take any chances)

The screen said the next train is at 215 am!!! I kept staring at the screen, rubbing my eyes in dibelief and all voices in my head telling me different stuff!

I was completely shocked, as I went to the station clock and saw it was 1.15 am... The voices in my head telling me either I have gotten up early or I sleep an entire day and night! - which was more of possibility as I always wake up late.

I checked my watch - it said 1.15 am; the other phone I was carrying said 1.15 am and the second phone says 6.45 am. It then dawned upon me that the phone I was referring to, still showed India time. so it was actually 645 am IST and 1.15 am UK time. I felt so stupid!

Not knowing whether to wait at the station for 6 hours and catch the train at 7, or go home, take a short nap and come back to the station, I lit up a smoke. The wind, the rain and the chill helped me decide in a jiffy. Hired a Mercedes E 230 back to the house. It costs freaking 5 pounds each way for a distance of 1.5 miles! So 10 pounds wasted (The same voices telling me I could have bought 2 six packs of heineken in that much money!) Felt very miserable...

Went back and slept, and overslept, got up at 630 am uk time (this time) and called the cab. No god-damn cabs were available for 20 mins. So I walked till the bus stop and the bus arrived at 6.55 am and I missed my train! and my first meeting in London.

Caught the next 740 train and headed to London and reached an hour late just in time for the next meeting. The day went fine, came back , had a couple of Budweisers still feeling miserable and slept. What a day it was!

PS: Please note the deliberate mention of beer brands in the entire post... Just showing off that I am having phoren beers here ;-) And the mention of meetings are just to show everyone I am working too!

York station

Outside the York station
The cold is making my hair stand
This is the bus I take from office back home... If we get these in India, I would leave my car at home everyday...
Another view
The MANGO store... right behind me
York was surrounded by walls on all sides... This is one of the walls... Most of the walls are gone, just a few remaining... This one is right behind our office

This is where i have fun

The ''Cross Keys'' pub.... authentic english / irish pub which serves Guiness!!!

Saw an African movie called Apocalypto with English subtitles directed by Mel Gibson in this theatre called City Screen... Apna Imax aur Fame is much better than this.... On top of that that a movie costs £10!!!
Yo1 is another decent pub with nice music where u get a pint of budweiser for £2.40... Not bad at this price
Aur ye hai hamara York City Sight Seeing bus... just like our Mumbai Darshan...
Inside the pub - ''Last Drop Inn''... Guiness on tap!!! And smoking allowed in this pub!! Need I say more?

This is where I work

Me outside our york office building
The York office building

Me ouside our london office

The King's cross station where i arrive to take the tube to go to our london office

This is where I live


This is the building where I stay, on the second floor.. the entire stupid building is no-smoking so i have to come down all the way and stand in the friggin cold and smoke :-(
Another view of the building...
This is the kitchen...

Me on the sofa with a can of Heineken ;-) Its just 5.45 in the evening
He is Venkat... 43 year old Mallu who stays in the other room... I had thought I would be living with a nice hot blonde.... what a let down :(